Yet true godliness with contentment is itself great wealth. (1Timothy 6:6)

Thought:

In this world and this life, the lure of wealth is extremely powerful. I know from experience that being happy with what you have is truly a great release and yet, I still imagine being wealthier than I am. I often think of the things I might own and the things I might do. I often dwell on the limitations of my situation and ponder on how things might have been different if I had lots of money. But I also thank God for all the good things I do have. Since I found my faith and started reading the Bible, I do so more and more often. I think one of the saddest things about this world we live in, is the sheer number of people who clearly don’t know that there is anything more valuable than money. Some of the things people will do and the things they seem to put up with, in the name of making a living and chasing wealth, defy common sense. Marriages are ruined and children are neglected. Some people choose not to have children at all. Friendships are sacrificed and health is compromised. Colleagues, whether friends or rivals, are betrayed and abused. All these things, and much worse besides, have been experienced in the name of business and the pursuit of wealth. “It’s just business,” they say,” it not personal.”

Word:

1 Timothy 6:3-10 NLT

Some people may contradict our teaching, but these are the wholesome teachings of the Lord Jesus Christ. These teachings promote a godly life. Anyone who teaches something different is arrogant and lacks understanding. Such a person has an unhealthy desire to quibble over the meaning of words. This stirs up arguments ending in jealousy, division, slander, and evil suspicions. These people always cause trouble. Their minds are corrupt, and they have turned their backs on the truth. To them, a show of godliness is just a way to become wealthy. Yet true godliness with contentment is itself great wealth. After all, we brought nothing with us when we came into the world, and we can’t take anything with us when we leave it. So if we have enough food and clothing, let us be content. But people who long to be rich fall into temptation and are trapped by many foolish and harmful desires that plunge them into ruin and destruction. For the love of money is the root of all kinds of evil. And some people, craving money, have wandered from the true faith and pierced themselves with many sorrows.

Goal:

I don’t know about you, but my life, and everything that I have experienced whilst I’ve been alive, has all felt extremely personal. But we are brought up to separate out our feelings into different boxes. There are public and private times, professional and personal lives, on stage and off stage personas, and so on. However, despite what we are brought up to think and do in order to fit in to the world, everything still feels personal. No amount of money can buy you protection from your own sorrow, and no amount of financial advice can bring you the peace of God which passes all understanding. My goal today is simply to thank the Lord for his truth, and the great wealth of peace that knowing him brings.

Today’s readings:

Jeremiah 37:1-38:28, 1 Timothy 6:1-21, Psalms 89:38-52, Proverbs 25:28

Leave a Reply

