For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline. (2 Timothy 1:7)

Thought:

I know I will always remember those Christian men and women who made a difference to my faith. The ones who came and preached and made a real and lasting difference in my life. I truly do thank God for them and remember them in my prayers with gratitude. Some I have met, others I have not. It doesn’t matter because, like Paul does with Timothy, I always remember them. And when I remember these most inspiring people, my faith is fanned into flame again and again. It really is necessary to keep the flame of your faith alive, it can go out unless we take care not to let it die. It has also been my common experience to hold back from telling those who might ask, the full extent of my faith in Jesus. However, more recently I have begun to trust in God a little bit more, and so I find I am less and less ashamed to admit my faith and even try to explain it a little when necessary. if people laugh or simply dismiss what I have to say, then I can suffer that for Jesus.

Word:

2 Timothy 1:3-8 NLT

Timothy, I thank God for you—the God I serve with a clear conscience, just as my ancestors did. Night and day I constantly remember you in my prayers. I long to see you again, for I remember your tears as we parted. And I will be filled with joy when we are together again. I remember your genuine faith, for you share the faith that first filled your grandmother Lois and your mother, Eunice. And I know that same faith continues strong in you. This is why I remind you to fan into flames the spiritual gift God gave you when I laid my hands on you. For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline. So never be ashamed to tell others about our Lord. And don’t be ashamed of me, either, even though I’m in prison for him. With the strength God gives you, be ready to suffer with me for the sake of the Good News.

Goal:

I am feeling more and more confident in my faith with every passing Sunday. I am also feeling the truth of Paul’s claim that God has actually given us a spirit of power, love and self discipline. The power is not exactly moving mountains, but gradually more and more people are signing up for and reading these daily devotionals. Also, I have genuinely found it easier to love not just my friends, but also those who would wish me ill. Finally, and in my opinion most spectacularly, I am still writing TWG everyday. It is now literally only a matter of days until, on the 1st November, I can claim to have written and shared some thought or other from scripture every day for a whole year. If the power of the Holy Spirit were not true, then I am absolutely convinced that I would have abandoned TWG many, many months ago. My goal is to keep on believing and expecting to receive power and love and self discipline in place of fear and timidity.

Today’s readings:

Jeremiah 39:1-41:18, 2 Timothy 1:1-18, Psalms 90:1-91:16, Proverbs 26:1-2

2 thoughts on “For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline. (2 Timothy 1:7)

  1. Wow!Can’t quite believe it has been one full year!Keep going Jim, I find the daily readings such a challenge and inspiration!

Leave a Reply

