All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true… (2 Timothy 3:16)

Thought:

In today’s passage, Paul reminds Timothy that the faith by which he is saved has come from having been taught the scriptures since he was a child (2 Timothy 3:15, also see Romans 10:10-15). Paul encourages Timothy to trust his own faith in the face of a great deal of false teaching with which he is struggling to compete. He reminds Timothy that he can know what he has been taught is true, for two reasons. Firstly, he can trust the people who taught him, namely, his parents and Paul himself. Secondly, Paul succinctly defines exactly what scripture is, where it comes from, and what its purpose is.
Personally, I am struck by how true it is that scripture is used by God to prepare and equip his people to do every good work (2 Timothy 3:17). I can not stress enough, or recommend more, the enormous benefit of spending some part of everyday with scripture. It doesn’t matter how much you read, from one verse to a whole book, what matters is the regular exposure to God’s Holy Word. That is how you get the wisdom to receive salvation.

Word:

2 Timothy 3:14-17 NLT

But you must remain faithful to the things you have been taught. You know they are true, for you know you can trust those who taught you. You have been taught the holy Scriptures from childhood, and they have given you the wisdom to receive the salvation that comes by trusting in Christ Jesus. All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realise what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right. God uses it to prepare and equip his people to do every good work.

Goal:

Although I can almost feel myself growing in my faith, I still find that I often fall into doubt.
I most often find that I start to question the divinity of scripture. But I also find that as I continue with my daily readings, the Bible itself speaks the truth so clearly that my doubts are always addressed, and as a result my faith is strengthened once again. The key thing to do, whenever the nagging doubts come, is to turn straight to the Bible. I do this because, despite my own personal doubt at any given time, I know I can trust those people who first taught me about Jesus and the truth of God given to us in the Bible. And so, through my own experience, I feel able to testify that Paul’s words of encouragement for Timothy, in today’s passage are true for all of us who believe and trust in Christ Jesus. Never more so than when we are troubled by the almost inevitable doubts that plague us from time to time.

Today’s readings:

Jeremiah 44:24-47:7, 2 Timothy 2:22-3:17, Psalms 94:1-23, Proverbs 26:6-8

Leave a Reply

