For if we obey him, everything will turn out well for us. (Jeremiah 42:6)

Thought:

In today’s passage, the people approached Jeremiah and asked him to pray to God for his will for them. Their intentions were to obey whatever The Lord commanded them and they appeared to be genuine in their intentions. However, we read, in the next chapter, that when he told them what The Lord had said, they refused to listen –– all the other proud men said to Jeremiah, “You lie!”…So Johanan and the other guerrilla leaders and all the people refused to obey the Lord’s command to stay in Judah. (Jeremiah 43: 2, 4 NLT). This story of the good intention to obey The Lord, only to fail immediately, is something surely everyone can relate to. However, just because we so often fail to implement our good intentions, it doesn’t mean they were wrong in the first place or that we are always doomed to fail.

Word:

Jeremiah 42:1-6 NLT

Then all the guerrilla leaders, including Johanan son of Kareah and Jezaniah son of Hoshaiah, and all the people, from the least to the greatest, approached Jeremiah the prophet. They said, “Please pray to the Lord your God for us. As you can see, we are only a tiny remnant compared to what we were before. Pray that the Lord your God will show us what to do and where to go.” “All right,” Jeremiah replied. “I will pray to the Lord your God, as you have asked, and I will tell you everything he says. I will hide nothing from you.” Then they said to Jeremiah, “May the Lord your God be a faithful witness against us if we refuse to obey whatever he tells us to do! Whether we like it or not, we will obey the Lord our God to whom we are sending you with our plea. For if we obey him, everything will turn out well for us.”

Goal:

Since I first heard about Jesus, I have been failing to obey his commands as they appear written in the scriptures, let alone that which he may, or may not, be asking of me now. However, I do know that his word is the truth and that if only I can obey him, then as he has promised, everything will turn out well for me. So that will be my goal. I will try to obey, in whatever capacity I am able, The Lord commands whether I like it or not. And if I should fail, as mostly I do, I will confess my failure and then just try again.

Today’s readings:

Jeremiah 42:1-44:23, 2 Timothy 2:1-21, Psalms 92:1-93:5, Proverbs 26:3-5

Leave a Reply

