O nations of the world, recognise the Lord (Psalm 96:7)

Thought:

I am living an interesting life these days. By that I mean, I feel as if I am caught between two worlds: the world of faith and the kingdom of Heaven on the one hand, and the actual world in which we live on the other, the world where science reigns and God is all but irrelevant. And yet, having said that, the more confidently I wear my faith, the more I find people are interested. My colleagues at work seem to respect my interest in the Bible and, whether they read it or not, they see me writing these devotionals and often ask me what I’m writing about. I like to think that they just need to see others taking God seriously in order to have the courage to do the same themselves. If we who believe, could just find the courage to tell those we know about the amazing things God has done in our own experience, imagine how many of them might just recognise The Lord working in their own lives and find their own faith.

Word:

Psalms 96:1-7 NLT

1 Sing a new song to the Lord!
Let the whole earth sing to the Lord!
2 Sing to the Lord; praise his name.
Each day proclaim the good news that he saves.
3 Publish his glorious deeds among the nations.
Tell everyone about the amazing things he does.
4 Great is the Lord! He is most worthy of praise!
He is to be feared above all gods.
5 The gods of other nations are mere idols,
but the Lord made the heavens!
6 Honour and majesty surround him;
strength and beauty fill his sanctuary.
7 O nations of the world, recognise the Lord;
recognise that the Lord is glorious and strong.

Goal:

I often ask myself, what amazing things has The Lord really done for me and often, I can’t think of anything in particular. But as soon as I open my Bible, I find such astonishing truth and such amazing wisdom. Of course I can, if I think about it, remember things that God has done in my life that have changed everything and helped me in times of real crisis. But these testimonies are for other believers, not sceptics. The Bible however, holds the keys to salvation and life itself. The truths in the Bible can change your life and release you from whatever chains are binding you. When you see the truth written in the scriptures, when you recognise The Lord, all there is to do is give thanks, and sing your heart out in praise and gratitude. My goal has been to publish the Lord’s glorious deeds. Perhaps you could help me by telling a friend or two about TWG.

Today’s readings:

Jeremiah 48:1-49:22, 2 Timothy 4:1-22, Psalms 95:1-96:13, Proverbs 26:9-12

Leave a Reply

