…be gentle and show true humility to everyone. (Titus 3:2)

Thought:

So this the difficult bit about being a Christian. Once we have accepted that we will repent of our sins and submit to the laws and commands of The Lord according to his Holy Word, we must also submit ourselves to the government of the land and also to anyone who would argue and quarrel with us. The behaviour of the committed disciple needs to be gentle and humble, like a servant to the world on behalf of Jesus himself. (See Philippians 2:8). I have found that the more time I have spent studying scripture, the easier it has been to drop old sinful habits. I say it has become easier, but please note, I do not say that it is easy. These things are all relative. New, more loving ways of living grow slowly, but the more you can immerse yourself in the Bible and in church life, the more natural they begin to feel.

Word:

Titus 3:1-8 NLT

Remind the believers to submit to the government and its officers. They should be obedient, always ready to do what is good. They must not slander anyone and must avoid quarrelling. Instead, they should be gentle and show true humility to everyone. Once we, too, were foolish and disobedient. We were misled and became slaves to many lusts and pleasures. Our lives were full of evil and envy, and we hated each other. But—“When God our Saviour revealed his kindness and love, he saved us, not because of the righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He washed away our sins, giving us a new birth and new life through the Holy Spirit. He generously poured out the Spirit upon us through Jesus Christ our Saviour. Because of his grace he declared us righteous and gave us confidence that we will inherit eternal life.” This is a trustworthy saying, and I want you to insist on these teachings so that all who trust in God will devote themselves to doing good. These teachings are good and beneficial for everyone. (Titus 3:1-8 NLT)

Goal:

I remember only too well living a life that was far from holy, and full of envy and hatred. I have been extremely foolish in my past and have made some terribly bad choices. For me, the worst thing is that I was not entirely ignorant of the Gospel message, but for what ever reasons, I didn’t think I could live like that. I thought I was too far gone, too much of a sinner. Clearly, although I had heard the message, I hadn’t really understood it. It is by the grace of God that we are saved, not by how good an example we set with our lives. My goal is therefore, to try and help others understand that these teachings really are good and beneficial for everyone. I hope, perhaps, some might then find their own salvation sooner.

Today’s readings:

Jeremiah 51:54-52:34, Titus 3:1-15, Psalms 100:1-5, Proverbs 26:18-19

Leave a Reply

