Does it mean nothing to you, all you who pass by? Look around and see if there is any suffering like mine…(Lamentations 1:12)

Thought:

It still comes as a shock to many of us when we realise how little anyone else really cares about us as individuals. Our pain and sorrow feel so terrible that it is genuinely hard to believe when others are not moved by our trials and our suffering. When we are so defeated and beaten down that we weep, it is often very true that we find no one there to comfort us or give us the courage to keep going. I am reminded of a kind lady I once knew, who was very fond of the saying, “When you laugh, the whole world laughs with you, but when you cry, you cry alone.” My experience of life up until my conversion had confirmed this saying many times over, but things are different now. in Lamentations, Jeremiah expresses his sorrow at the fate that Jerusalem and her people are enduring as a result of having rejected God’s instructions. But despite the Lord’s wrath, he will always care about our suffering. In fact, God’s righteous anger shows us how much he cares. The Lord wants us to realise our need for him but often we only notice how alone we are and how far from God we have strayed when we are reduced to tears of loneliness and pain.

Word:

Lamentations 1:12-16 NLT

“Does it mean nothing to you, all you who pass by? Look around and see if there is any suffering like mine, which the Lord brought on me when he erupted in fierce anger. “He has sent fire from heaven that burns in my bones. He has placed a trap in my path and turned me back. He has left me devastated, racked with sickness all day long. “He wove my sins into ropes to hitch me to a yoke of captivity. The Lord sapped my strength and turned me over to my enemies; I am helpless in their hands. “The Lord has treated my mighty men with contempt. At his command a great army has come to crush my young warriors. The Lord has trampled his beloved city like grapes are trampled in a winepress. “For all these things I weep; tears flow down my cheeks. No one is here to comfort me; any who might encourage me are far away. My children have no future, for the enemy has conquered us.”

Goal:

Jeremiah speaks of realising that this yoke of captivity is hitched by the “ropes of sin”. Also, there is no strength left because The Lord has undermined it and left the people helpless before their enemies. Have you ever forgotten what The Lord says about sin and then found yourself all tied up in knots – bound by ropes of sin? Have you ever forgotten that all your strength comes from God and ended up feeling helpless and vulnerable? My goal today is to consciously turn back to God and repent of the sins that are tying me up, and then turn to God’s Word to hear from him that I might have my strength restored.

Today’s readings:

Lamentations 1:1-2:22, Philemon 1:1-25, Psalms 101:1-8, Proverbs 26:20

Leave a Reply

