Yet I still dare to hope when I remember this: The faithful love of the Lord never ends! (Lamentations 3:21-22)

Thought:

Today’s passage perfectly captures how my new faith in God’s faithfulness and mercy has positively affected my whole state of mind over the past year. This year has been a tough one, to be sure, but I have known bad times before and they have hurt much more and been harder to bear. Some might say that experience is a great help in times of adversity, and there is undoubtedly truth in that. But more than that, I have never had a sense of joy during times of sadness and loss in the past. The only source of such joy in the midst of sorrow, is knowing the hope offered by Jesus. I can’t say why my life has turned out the way it has, but since I came to faith in Jesus, I no longer see the bad or remember the hurt. I see the wisdom in God’s Word and feel the healing that God has brought into my life now that I acknowledge him.

Word:

Lamentations 3:19-31 NLT

The thought of my suffering and homelessness is bitter beyond words. I will never forget this awful time, as I grieve over my loss. Yet I still dare to hope when I remember this: The faithful love of the Lord never ends! His mercies never cease. Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each morning. I say to myself, “The Lord is my inheritance; therefore, I will hope in him!” The Lord is good to those who depend on him, to those who search for him. So it is good to wait quietly for salvation from the Lord. And it is good for people to submit at an early age to the yoke of his discipline: Let them sit alone in silence beneath the Lord’s demands. Let them lie face down in the dust, for there may be hope at last. Let them turn the other cheek to those who strike them and accept the insults of their enemies. For no one is abandoned by the Lord forever.

Goal:

In this passage we are told: “Great is his faithfulness; his mercies begin afresh each morning.” and “The Lord is good to those who depend on him, to those who search for him.” (Lamentations 3:23&25). In writing these daily devotionals I have been able to experience the truth of these two verses everyday. In spending time in the Word each morning, I have felt the great comfort of his faithfulness, and the a daily sense of renewal in my salvation. I find I now depend on The Lord as I continue to search for him. The Lord has been, and continues to be good to me, as I try to follow him in faith. He has given me the confidence to withstand attack and loss whilst also giving me the grace not to retaliate. I pray that he will give me the strength to keep on doing so, as I continue to put all my hope and trust in his faithful love.

Today’s readings:

Lamentations 3:1-66, Hebrews 1:1-14, Psalms 102:1-28, Proverbs 26:21-22

Leave a Reply

