I have rejoiced in your laws as much as in riches. (Psalms 119:14)

Thought:

When I was a child and a young man, I wanted to live the Christian life. But I thought that I would never be able to do it. Even as a child, I knew that there was a wide gap between what I heard read and preached in the cathedral, and the life I and everyone else actually lived. I knew that in the environment I was in, and having no real control over my life, I would never be able to adopt a christian lifestyle. As a child and a young man, and having never read the Bible myself, I didn’t realise that all christians must choose to mould their lives according to what they learn from scripture and how that informs their faith. When I did eventually come to faith, I remember wising I hadn’t wasted so much of my life making it up as I went along. As I realised that the eternal truth of God had been available to guide my life all along, I had a strong desire to catch up on what I felt I should have always known. I had always been longing to know God and live under his guidance and wisdom. I do genuinely believe that a young person could not make a better decision than to obey the word of God, especially if they wish to remain pure in body, mind and spirit. I wish I had.

Word:

Psalms 119:9-16 NLT

9 How can a young person stay pure?
By obeying your word.
10 I have tried hard to find you—
don’t let me wander from your commands.
11 I have hidden your word in my heart,
that I might not sin against you.
12 I praise you, O Lord;
teach me your decrees.
13 I have recited aloud
all the regulations you have given us.
14 I have rejoiced in your laws
as much as in riches.
15 I will study your commandments
and reflect on your ways.
16 I will delight in your decrees
and not forget your word.

Goal:

Having tried to catch up on what I feel I missed in my youth, I do feel I have worked hard to find God. My goal, having tried so hard, is to try and stick as closely as I can to the Lord’s commands. I am hiding the Bible, little by little, day by day, in my heart in order to better resist sin and the devil. I am studying the word of The Lord and reflecting on His ways and I hope he will teach me so that I can recite the Bible and preach on it with confidence and authority in future. I am delighted by the wisdom and wonderful truth of scripture, so much so, that I can genuinely say that I have rejoiced in God’s laws as much, if not more, than in riches. I can relate every single word of this passage from Psalm 119 to my experience of scripture in the time since I turned to The Lord just a few years ago. Every word is true and I find that wonderful and amazing.

Today’s readings:

Ezekiel 42:1-43:27, James 5:1-20, Psalms 119:1-16, Proverbs 28:6-7

Leave a Reply

