I will walk in freedom, for I have devoted myself to your commandments. (Psalm 119:45)

Thought:

I have come to realise that all my hope is resting on the truth of the Bible. If I should be wrong, and it could be demonstrated to me that there is no truth in the Bible, then I would have no reliable path to follow and I would be utterly lost. But I don’t have any fear that this will happen. Since I began studying the Bible, I have known true freedom. Yes, I still have unanswered questions, and there are still many problems in my life which do not yet have obvious solutions. But freedom in one’s life, I have come to understand, does not necessarily mean it will be easy. The freedom I have found comes from knowing God’s promise of salvation as written in the scriptures. Freedom comes when guilt is wiped away and shame is erased. Freedom from guilt and shame is the best freedom. It truly does enable you to answer those who would taunt you. I do feel now, that I could speak to anyone about my faith with confidence, and not be at all ashamed. I do not fear judgement or ridicule in any form from any quarter, because I have devoted myself to God’s commandments, I delight in them, I love them and above all, I trust in God’s word.

Word:

Psalms 119:41-48 NLT

41 Lord, give me your unfailing love,
the salvation that you promised me.
42 Then I can answer those who taunt me,
for I trust in your word.
43 Do not snatch your word of truth from me,
for your regulations are my only hope.
44 I will keep on obeying your instructions
forever and ever.
45 I will walk in freedom,
for I have devoted myself to your commandments.
46 I will speak to kings about your laws,
and I will not be ashamed.
47 How I delight in your commands!
How I love them!
48 I honour and love your commands.
I meditate on your decrees.

Goal:

My Goal is this whole of today’s passage. It is both a prayer to The Lord, that he would not abandon me but continue to honour his promise of salvation, and a joyous cry of confidence and praise that His word gives such wonderful freedom. God’s commandments, instructions and decrees, far from restricting us, empower us and free us from oppression, fear, self doubt, guilt and shame. It strikes me that this message of freedom and abundant life is far too often left out of Christian custom and practice. I would like to encourage more Christians to focus on the freedom from shame that Jesus brought us and the forgiveness he blessed all sinners with by his great sacrifice on the cross.

Today’s readings:

Ezekiel 45:13-46:24, 1 Peter 1:13-2:10, Psalms 119:33-48, Proverbs 28:11

Leave a Reply

