If we claim we have no sin, we are only fooling ourselves and not living in the truth. (1 John 1:8)

Thought:

I think a lot of people are aware of Jesus, in that they have heard of him, and perhaps they also have a dim memory of his message. Many of them would even agree that his message is good. However, I doubt any one of those, who is not already a believer, thinks that anyone really puts His message into practice. I certainly didn’t think they did until I began coming to church and I met people for whom Jesus’s way of life was central to their own. As a young boy I had rejected the idea of being a christian because I saw no evidence of anyone actually practicing the truth of it in their daily lives. It only ever seemed to me to be theoretical. If the truth of God, as revealed to us by Jesus, remains only theory and if believers remain in the dark, then they can neither grow in faith nor shed the light of God in to the world and enlighten those who don’t yet know that he is real.

Word:

1 John 1:5-10 NLT

This is the message we heard from Jesus and now declare to you: God is light, and there is no darkness in him at all. So we are lying if we say we have fellowship with God but go on living in spiritual darkness; we are not practicing the truth. But if we are living in the light, as God is in the light, then we have fellowship with each other, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, cleanses us from all sin. If we claim we have no sin, we are only fooling ourselves and not living in the truth. But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all wickedness. If we claim we have not sinned, we are calling God a liar and showing that his word has no place in our hearts.

Goal:

One of the reasons I rejected a life of faith when I was young, was the lack of evidence of God that I could see in the lives of those who preached Jesus’s message. Somewhere in my heart, I thought that their failure to live life in such a way as to show me they believed in God and his ways, was as good as proof that God and his promises were not to be trusted. I felt that their inadequacy somehow proved God’s limitations. These days I realise that faith is really complicated and that nothing can be taken for granted. I pray that Jesus would always be present and that the word of God would reign in the hearts of all believers from now until eternity… My goal is to continue to confess my sins to God in the genuine hope that he will bless me forever. God Bless us all and save those of us who love him. Amen.

Today’s readings:

Daniel 7:1-28, 1 John 1:1-10, Psalms 119:153-176, Proverbs 28:23-24

Leave a Reply

