My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth! (Psalm 121:2)

Thought:

The psalmist opens this psalm with a question: where does my help come from? The question is an eternal one: where does my help come from? Who is this Lord who watches over us, who protects us, who never slumbers or sleeps? If you have trouble envisioning God or The Lord, perhaps you could think of it in a more straight forward way. When we speak of God and The Lord, we often speak of his love, or his truth, or his power. But how can we actually grasp what these things mean. May I suggest that we can find these things when we read his Word, the Holy Scriptures. In fact we could substitute the word “Lord” for the word “Scripture” in several places in today’s passage. For example: “Scripture” keeps you from all harm and watches over your life (Verse 7). The scriptures contain all the wisdom and truth you will ever need to live your life well. If you read it regularly and learn it, then you are much more likely to obey it and see the benefits in your life. (see the gospel of John 1:1)

Word:

Psalms 121:1-8 NLT

1 I look up to the mountains—
does my help come from there?
2 My help comes from the Lord,
who made heaven and earth!
3 He will not let you stumble;
the one who watches over you will not slumber.
4 Indeed, he who watches over Israel
never slumbers or sleeps.
5 The Lord himself watches over you!
The Lord stands beside you as your protective shade.
6 The sun will not harm you by day,
nor the moon at night.
7 The Lord keeps you from all harm
and watches over your life.
8 The Lord keeps watch over you as you come and go,
both now and forever.

Goal:

Whenever I have been doubtful or felt that God is far away, and when ever I have been challenged in my faith, the words of God have reassured me and spoken directly to me. Yesterday, when faced with writing this, was no exception. I was tired and I had to force myself to sit down and read today’s passages at 8:00pm last night. I have not been able to get to church for a few weeks for various reasons and I have been working out of town, away from friends, home and family for months. I read through the passages in Daniel and 1 John and nothing struck me at all. I was having trouble keeping my eyes open. And then, just at the point when I was losing heart, I saw the psalm and I knew that The Lord was holding me and reminding me that he knows my troubles and he will keep me strong, motivated and protected. My goal is to encourage any of you reading these devotionals to really believe that when you are tired and at a low ebb, you will always find what you need to help you carry on, if you can just remember to look in your bible for the word of God himself.

Today’s readings:

Daniel 9:1-11:1, 1 John 2:18-3:6, Psalms 121:1-8, Proverbs 28:27-28

Leave a Reply

