But you, dear friends, must build each other up in your most holy faith (Jude 1:20)

Thought:

The bulk of Jude’s epistle from which today’s passage comes, was a warning against false teachers. As I read through this book which contains only 25 verses, I found myself wondering exactly how do we know who is who? Perhaps I am a false teacher and all these posts are actually only ideas which bear no relation to the way in which I live my life. Only a few evenings ago, I was talking to my mother, who is not a believer. She asked me how I could tell the difference between men and women who had a genuine faith, and those that were perhaps a little misguided in their ideas about how to apply faith in their lives. I wonder, am I trying to satisfy ungodly desire by means of following my natural instincts? Or as I hope, and as these devotionals are meant, is this project building up others in a holy faith? I can try, and I can hope, and I can pray, but only God can ever really know.

Word:

Jude 1:17-23 NLT

But you, my dear friends, must remember what the apostles of our Lord Jesus Christ said. They told you that in the last times there would be scoffers whose purpose in life is to satisfy their ungodly desires. These people are the ones who are creating divisions among you. They follow their natural instincts because they do not have God’s Spirit in them. But you, dear friends, must build each other up in your most holy faith, pray in the power of the Holy Spirit, and await the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ, who will bring you eternal life. In this way, you will keep yourselves safe in God’s love. And you must show mercy to those whose faith is wavering. Rescue others by snatching them from the flames of judgment. Show mercy to still others, but do so with great caution, hating the sins that contaminate their lives.

Goal:

Today, my goal will be to carry on, as best I can, doing that which I believe The Lord is asking me to do. Even when a certain direction or action seems to be in a contrary spirit to what others might expect, I pray The Lord would give me the courage to stand tall and carry on in the way he has shown me. I really hope, after such a long project, spanning the whole bible, across one year, that I can finish it well. But if fault were to be found in my life or my work, I hope I could rely on my dear friends in the church fellowship to show me mercy if, indeed, they felt they needed to snatch me from the flames of judgement.

Today’s readings:

Hosea 10:1-14:9, Jude 1:1-25, Psalms 127:1-5, Proverbs 19:15-17

Leave a Reply

