I am counting on the Lord; yes, I am counting on him. I have put my hope in his word. (Psalm 130:5)

Thought:

I have to admit that since I became a committed Christian I can’t think how I ever managed on my own. My faith has grown hugely in this year despite great trials and disappointments, perhaps because of them. I have felt powerless to defend myself as events have unfolded and so I have turned ever more to God in prayer. Had I not found Jesus and been blessed with confidence in my new faith, and had I not found solace, comfort and guidance in the bible, I would not have known how to cope. I am genuinely counting on The Lord and I really have put all my hope in his word. I have had my prayers answered in the most unpredictable ways, at just the right times. God has never let me down since I have been focused on following his ways in gratitude and humility.

Word:

Psalms 130:1-8 NLT

1 From the depths of despair, O Lord,
I call for your help.
2 Hear my cry, O Lord.
Pay attention to my prayer.
3 Lord, if you kept a record of our sins,
who, O Lord, could ever survive?
4 But you offer forgiveness,
that we might learn to fear you.
5 I am counting on the Lord; yes, I am counting on him.
I have put my hope in his word.
6 I long for the Lord more than sentries long for the dawn,
yes, more than sentries long for the dawn.
7 O Israel, hope in the Lord; for with the Lord there is unfailing love.
His redemption overflows.
8 He himself will redeem Israel
from every kind of sin.

Goal:

For over two years now, I have made it my habit each day, to read passages from both the New and Old Testaments, the Psalms and Proverbs. For the whole of this year I have written about something that spoke to me each day and I have shared it with you via email, blog and Facebook. I have learned to rely on the wisdom and truth of the Bible. But my goal from now on, will be to develop a better habit of prayer than I currently have. The Psalmist reminds me that when he was in the depths of despair he cried out to The Lord that he would hear his prayer. I am reminded that whatever sin I might hold in my heart and no matter how much I might forget to pray to God, he will forgive me because of his unfailing love. Whenever I need him, and whenever I show him that I need him by my own confession, I can count on him to come to my aid with love, compassion and forgiveness.

Today’s readings:

Amos 4:1-6:14, Revelation 2:18-3:6, Psalms 130:1-8, Proverbs 29:21-22

Leave a Reply

