“Look! I stand at the door and knock. If you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in (Revela tion 3:20)

Thought:

This verse has been with me for most of my life. When I made my commitment to follow Jesus a few years ago, I realised that I had known this verse since I was a boy when my father had told me his testimony. For him, it had meant so much that he had hung a picture called “The Light of The World” by the front door. The painting depicts Jesus knocking on an overgrown door, standing in the shadows holding a lantern. Significantly, there is no handle for him to open the door, the handle is on the inside, suggesting that Jesus must be let in. What I realised, as I turned to embrace my “new” faith almost three years ago, was that, actually, Jesus had been with me across the many years, since my father had first told me about him. I had been moved as a small boy to want to know Jesus. I remember praying with my father that I would open my heart and let Jesus come in and live there. I realised at my baptism at Easter 2011, that he had answered that prayer and had been living in my heart ever since. but I had not realised it until then.

Word:

Revelation 3:14-22 NLT

“Write this letter to the angel of the church in Laodicea. This is the message from the one who is the Amen—the faithful and true witness, the beginning of God’s new creation: “I know all the things you do, that you are neither hot nor cold. I wish that you were one or the other! But since you are like lukewarm water, neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth! You say, ‘I am rich. I have everything I want. I don’t need a thing!’ And you don’t realize that you are wretched and miserable and poor and blind and naked. So I advise you to buy gold from me—gold that has been purified by fire. Then you will be rich. Also buy white garments from me so you will not be shamed by your nakedness, and ointment for your eyes so you will be able to see. I correct and discipline everyone I love. So be diligent and turn from your indifference. “Look! I stand at the door and knock. If you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in, and we will share a meal together as friends. Those who are victorious will sit with me on my throne, just as I was victorious and sat with my Father on his throne. “Anyone with ears to hear must listen to the Spirit and understand what he is saying to the churches.”

Goal:

Like the Loadiceans to whom this letter is addressed, we live wealthy and privileged lives. So much so, that religion and spirituality have been extensively forgotten by the vast majority (in the UK at least). Even many of those who have seen and heard the Gospel lived out by friends and family and who would call themselves Christians, are really only lukewarm in their faith. My goal is to stoke the embers of faith in those I meet who are interested, until they burn for The Lord. I have become passionate about the power of the Good News that Jesus has revealed to us, and I pray that this fire in my soul might never die. I want to keep Jesus at the very centre of my life so that everything I do, think and say, and I pray that others might ask Jesus to come in so that they might know the joy of his blessing on their lives.

Today’s readings:

Amos 7:1-9:15, Revelation 3:7-22, Psalms 131:1-3, Proverbs 29:23

Leave a Reply

