Then as I looked, I saw a door standing open in heaven. (Revelation 4:1)

Thought:

In today’s passage, John tells of a vision of what heaven looks like. This morning I was privileged to be able to visit the Grand Mosque, in Muscat, Oman. I can tell you now, before this morning at the Mosque, I had never seen anything that had actually, literally, taken my breath away. To try and describe it would be futile, and even posting a photograph would never do the experience justice. I have to say, It was so beautiful and the atmosphere so full of peace and respect (or perhaps one should say reverence) that the feeling has stayed with me all day. Whatever the words might be, it has certainly had a powerful effect on me. Even if it is not designed to evoke heaven in any pictorial sense, it is so magnificent that one cannot help but imagine the awesome splendour of heaven where the love and the peace of God reign for all eternity.

Word:

Revelation 4:1-6 NLT

Then as I looked, I saw a door standing open in heaven, and the same voice I had heard before spoke to me like a trumpet blast. The voice said,”Come up here, and I will show you what must happen after this.” And instantly I was in the Spirit, and I saw a throne in heaven and someone sitting on it. The one sitting on the throne was as brilliant as gemstones – like jasper and carnelian. And the glow of an emerald circled his throne like a rainbow. Twenty-four thrones surrounded him, and twenty-four elders sat on them. They were all clothed in white and had gold crowns on their heads. From the throne came flashes of lighting and the rumble of thunder. And in front of the throne were seven torches with burning flames. This is the seven fold Spirit of God. In front of the throne was a shiny glass sea, sparkling like crystal.

Goal:

I would like to be able to remember the Grand Mosque in Muscat, and the wonderful calm and peace I felt there, for years into the future. My goal will be to spend more time in contemplation of the heavenly throne in all it’s glory. This is not just some silly quest for the supernatural, or seeking to escape from the harsh realities of our world. Rather, it is a determination to find the peace of God, which passes all understanding. I want to remember being silenced and stilled immediately as I realised the magnitude of the beauty. The scale of the building, the astonishing detail and painstaking skill that must have gone into every last square inch of the place – there are no words… If this can be achieved by the hands of men, I can’t begin to imagine what the glory of The Lord must be like!

Today’s readings:

Obadiah 1:1-21, Revelation 4:1-11, Psalms 132:1-18, Proverbs 29:24-25

Leave a Reply

