But as for me, I am filled with power— with the Spirit of the Lord. (Micah 3:8)

Thought:

It has been becoming clearer to me, as I have read through the Bible each day, that although it is good to get to know what The Lord has said, we can achieve nothing powerful for God, unless by his grace, he fills us with his Holy Spirit. Our knowledge and understanding alone are all well and good, but if we are going to share God with those who don’t yet know him in ways that will move them, then we will need far more than mere human reason or argument. I have the feeling that a great many of those who say they don’t believe in God have never come anywhere near anyone who truly knows The Lord. They have no experience of that which is holy and have no concept of the blessings of the Holy Spirit. In today’s passage, the prophet Micah exposes the corruption of the holy city of Jerusalem and the nation of Israel. In particular, he firmly points out that those who are in it for the money will not only inevitably be disgraced, but ultimately their lies and false prophesies will lead the whole population away from the truth of God, and cause Israel’s downfall. I can’t help thinking that the very same fate is awaiting our own society, perhaps even in our own lifetime.

Word:

Micah 3:5-12 NLT

This is what the Lord says: “You false prophets are leading my people astray! You promise peace for those who give you food, but you declare war on those who refuse to feed you. Now the night will close around you, cutting off all your visions. Darkness will cover you, putting an end to your predictions. The sun will set for you prophets, and your day will come to an end. Then you seers will be put to shame, and you fortune-tellers will be disgraced. And you will cover your faces because there is no answer from God.” But as for me, I am filled with power— with the Spirit of the Lord. I am filled with justice and strength to boldly declare Israel’s sin and rebellion. Listen to me, you leaders of Israel! You hate justice and twist all that is right. You are building Jerusalem on a foundation of murder and corruption. You rulers make decisions based on bribes; you priests teach God’s laws only for a price; you prophets won’t prophesy unless you are paid. Yet all of you claim to depend on the Lord. “No harm can come to us,” you say, “for the Lord is here among us.” Because of you, Mount Zion will be ploughed like an open field; Jerusalem will be reduced to ruins! A thicket will grow on the heights where the Temple now stands.

Goal:

At the risk of contradicting myself, my goal today is to remember that, although the power of God can be delivered by the Holy Spirit, we build our relationship with God, step by step each day, through prayer and the reading of his Holy Word. I long to know the power of the Holy Spirit but whether or not I am blessed by His presence, I can always turn to God in prayer, and there will always be wisdom, truth and great comfort available to me in the Bible. I must remember that no matter what anyone else might say, no matter how much their idea’s might be tempting, if I am in any doubt, I can always trust the Bible to speak the true word of God.

Today’s readings:

Micah 1:1-4:13, Revelation 6:1-17, Psalms 134:1-3, Proverbs 30:1-4

Leave a Reply

