He gives food to every living thing. His faithful love endures forever. (Psalm 136:25)

Thought:

Psalm 136, from which today’s word is taken is 26 verses long and every single verse tells us that His faithful love endures forever. Why this extreme repetition? I think it is because the concept is actually very difficult for us to grasp. It occurred to me once, that I have been told that Jesus loves me, I have heard it often and seen it written everywhere from church banners to car bumper stickers. But do I really know that it is true? Do you really know that that God has really remembered you personally? Do you really know, because you can feel it, that his faithful love is always going to be there for you to rely on, no matter what you do or what happens to you in life? The psalmist was moved to repeat this line in every verse because he wanted us to really understand the point that God loves each one of us individually. He has remembered you personally and will always love you unconditionally.

Word:

Psalms 136:23-26 NLT

23 He remembered us in our weakness.
His faithful love endures forever.
24 He saved us from our enemies.
His faithful love endures forever.
25 He gives food to every living thing.
His faithful love endures forever.
26 Give thanks to the God of heaven.
His faithful love endures forever.

Goal:

I have included the verses from Proverbs that I read today as my goal. This is because both the passage below from Proverbs, and the passage above from the Psalms, contain one of the most basic issues that we all face every day of our lives: getting enough food. Also, taken together both passages contain the essence of the central lines of The Lord’s Prayer – Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive them that trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation; but deliver us from evil.

Proverbs 30:7-9 NLT

O God, I beg two favours from you; let me have them before I die. First, help me never to tell a lie. Second, give me neither poverty nor riches! Give me just enough to satisfy my needs. For if I grow rich, I may deny you and say, “Who is the Lord?” And if I am too poor, I may steal and thus insult God’s holy name.

Today’s readings:

Nahum 1:1-3:19, Revelation 8:1-13, Psalms 136:1-26, Proverbs 30:7-9

Leave a Reply

