What sorrow awaits you who build big houses with money gained dishonestly! (Habakkuk 2:9)

Thought:

For me, finding God, or coming to realise my faith, or being born again, came down to just one thing: owning up to my failings and short comings. I became aware that my greed for the things of the world, the status symbols, had led me to make bad choices and to behave in ways that I was ashamed of. I became aware of the glory of The Lord. I came to realise that nothing gained in any way other than that which is acceptable to God could ever really last or be worth anything. I became aware that there was no security to be found on this earth, either through wealth or power or fame, that could rival the security of God. I realised that I was lost and sad and lonely, and that I always would be, as long as I continued to ignore the wisdom and the way of God. I realised that life without acknowledging God, was and always would be, pointless.

Word:

Habakkuk 2:9-14 NLT

“What sorrow awaits you who build big houses with money gained dishonestly! You believe your wealth will buy security, putting your family’s nest beyond the reach of danger. But by the murders you committed, you have shamed your name and forfeited your lives. The very stones in the walls cry out against you, and the beams in the ceilings echo the complaint. “What sorrow awaits you who build cities with money gained through murder and corruption! Has not the Lord of Heaven’s Armies promised that the wealth of nations will turn to ashes? They work so hard, but all in vain! For as the waters fill the sea, the earth will be filled with an awareness of the glory of the Lord.

Goal:

Today I have realised afresh how futile it is to try to ignore God. To know about God from having heard and understood the gospel message, is to know the truth of the whole world throughout all time. It really is true that ill gotten gains can harm you beyond imagining. You only need to glance at the tabloid press to know that there is no business too private, as to be immune from the full public scrutiny, and there is no humiliation too small as to avert serious exposure and the full public judgement with total personal ridicule. My goal is to stand tall, knowing that my trust is entirely in Jesus and nothing else. I want to remember that Jesus is my Lord, and as such, my conscience is clear. I want to try and live by his own example and to share my experience of doing so with others, in the hope that they too, might begin to trust Jesus above all else.

Today’s readings:

Habakkuk 1:1-3:19, Revelation 9:1-21, Psalms 137:1-9, Proverbs 30:10

Leave a Reply

