The proud have set a trap to catch me; they have stretched out a net; they have placed traps all along the way. (Psalm140:5)

Thought:

Throughout this year, on several occasions, I have written about my journey before and after becoming a Christian. I think today’s passage from the Psalms, sheds some light on why it is that I took so long to make that final commitment only three years ago. The psalmist is crying out for mercy from The Lord from all the wickedness and evil that surrounds him. He clearly feels extremely vulnerable to the attacks of evil people who wish to catch him in the many traps they have set. I think this is an accurate reflection of how it feels to many people who are seriously considering following Jesus. I think it is all too easy for life long Christians to forget how much courage it takes non-christians to change their lives for Jesus. For me as a boy, I knew I wanted to follow Jesus. But I also knew it would be impossible for me to develop a real faith of integrity, whilst living in isolation in my boarding school environment. As a child, I knew nothing of the power of the word of God in the Bible, I was only dimly aware of the way of faith in Jesus and I had heard some bible stories. I knew, even as a child, that faced with the reality of the world as it was, I had no chance as a christian, there were just too many traps all along the way.

Word:

Psalms 140:1-6 NLT

1 O Lord, rescue me from evil people.
Protect me from those who are violent,
2 those who plot evil in their hearts
and stir up trouble all day long.
3 Their tongues sting like a snake;
the venom of a viper drips from their lips. Interlude
4 O Lord, keep me out of the hands of the wicked.
Protect me from those who are violent, for they are plotting against me.
5 The proud have set a trap to catch me; they have stretched out a net;
they have placed traps all along the way. Interlude
6 I said to the Lord, “You are my God!”
Listen, O Lord, to my cries for mercy!

Goal:

Today’s goal is really the goal of this whole year long project. I hope that I might be able to offer some support to new christians with these daily devotionals. Throughout the year I have shared my thoughts on how the scriptures of the Bible have given me inspiration and genuine strength in situations where, without my faith in the word of God, I would have been caught in one of the many traps in my path. I have testified my faith and confessed my failures, I have thanked God and challenged the church. But above all, my goal has been to encourage both believers and non believers that they can trust what God has said to us in his living word. I believe that he hears our cries for mercy and many of the answers we seek are already waiting for us in the Bible.

Today’s readings:

Zechariah 1:1-21, Revelation 12:1-17, Psalms 140:1-13, Proverbs 30:17

Leave a Reply

