The Lord always keeps his promises; he is gracious in all he does. (Psalm 145:13b)

Thought:

For me, this is one of the most wonderful aspects of God. He is constant and utterly trustworthy. In a world where nothing stays the same and all things must come to an end, the constancy of The Lord is the greatest comfort to me. In fact, faith is only possible because God has kept his promises. Without his promise there would be nothing to have faith in. Often, from our selfish and shortsighted point of view, it can seem as if He has forgotten about what he promised us. But it is far more likely that he hasn’t answered our prays as we might have hoped, because we were asking for the wrong things, things that would harm us. When it seems as if The Lord is letting you down, he is most likely graciously saving you from yourself. This is what the Psalmist knew, and he has written these words to remind us that whatever we might think, however much we might doubt his methods, we can always rely on The Lord to protect all those who love him.

Word:

Psalms 145:13b-21 NLT

13b The Lord always keeps his promises;
he is gracious in all he does.
14 The Lord helps the fallen
and lifts those bent beneath their loads.
15 The eyes of all look to you in hope;
you give them their food as they need it.
16 When you open your hand,
you satisfy the hunger and thirst of every living thing.
17 The Lord is righteous in everything he does;
he is filled with kindness.
18 The Lord is close to all who call on him,
yes, to all who call on him in truth.
19 He grants the desires of those who fear him;
he hears their cries for help and rescues them.
20 The Lord protects all those who love him,
but he destroys the wicked.
21 I will praise the Lord,
and may everyone on earth
bless his holy name forever and ever.

Goal:

I have had my doubts about God, and I’m sure I will again in future, but in the short period of time since I turned back to The Lord, He has shown me more often that I can trust him. I can testify, from my own experience, that each verse in the passage above has been true in my life. So my goal will be to praise The Lord today and everyday. I will praise him with the very life he gave me. I will weave the deeds of my daily life into a great hymn of praise to God until its sings out into the lives of others. Then perhaps, if others can see The Lord being praised in my life, they might want to join in and bless his holy name with me forever and ever. Amen.

Today’s readings:

Zechariah 9:1-17, Revelation 17:1-18, Psalms 145:1-21, Proverbs 30-32

Leave a Reply

