“I am the Lord, and I do not change. That is why you descendants of Jacob are not already destroyed. (Malachi 3:6)

Thought:

It is so easy to imagine that God does not exist because we get so caught up in how hard our lives are. But the truth is, if God had abandoned us or there was no God, life would be unutterably worse, if not lost altogether. The amazing truth is that God still wants to give us everything. He wants us to live in peace and love and enjoy the abundance of all the pleasures that life in his presence has to offer. All He requires is our trust and our devotion. When he talks about giving him our tithes, do not think that he only wants our money. Our money is useless to God, he wants us. Our lives, our industry, our willingness to live righteous, honest, pure lives for his eternal glory, that is what he wants. In return he offers to open the windows of heaven for us and pour out blessings so great there won’t be enough room to take it all in! Will you try it? Will you take The Lord up on this offer and put him to the test?

Word:

Malachi 3:6-12 NLT

“I am the Lord, and I do not change. That is why you descendants of Jacob are not already destroyed. Ever since the days of your ancestors, you have scorned my decrees and failed to obey them. Now return to me, and I will return to you,” says the Lord of Heaven’s Armies. “But you ask, ‘How can we return when we have never gone away?’ “Should people cheat God? Yet you have cheated me! “But you ask, ‘What do you mean? When did we ever cheat you?’ “You have cheated me of the tithes and offerings due to me. You are under a curse, for your whole nation has been cheating me. Bring all the tithes into the storehouse so there will be enough food in my Temple. If you do,” says the Lord of Heaven’s Armies, “I will open the windows of heaven for you. I will pour out a blessing so great you won’t have enough room to take it in! Try it! Put me to the test! Your crops will be abundant, for I will guard them from insects and disease. Your grapes will not fall from the vine before they are ripe,” says the Lord of Heaven’s Armies. “Then all nations will call you blessed, for your land will be such a delight,” says the Lord of Heaven’s Armies.

Goal:

This is the last of the daily devotionals I shall write for my year long TWG series. I have read the whole Bible from Genesis to Revelation in daily chunks and I have shared my thoughts, as a new Christian, taking my first steps in faith. As the year has gone by, I have faced all kinds of challenges on all kinds of levels. Spiritual and emotional issues have been ever present, financial and career related questions have had to be answered, family and friends have helped and hindered. But my faith has been strengthened through all of it because it has been tried and tested. I have put The Lord to the test and claimed his promises for myself. I have to tell you, in this last devotional, that the Word of God is true. Despite everything that has happened since I committed my life to Jesus, I have been blessed beyond imagining. I hope you will make it your goal to put all your hope in God next year. See for yourself how much he will bless you.

Today’s readings:

Malachi 3:1-4:6, Revelation 22:1-21, Psalms 150:1-6, Proverbs 31:25-31

Leave a Reply

